From mboxrd@z Thu Jan 1 00:00:00 1970 From: Thomas De Schampheleire Date: Mon, 02 Sep 2013 22:07:51 +0200 Subject: [Buildroot] [PATCH 2 of 9 v4] Config.in.legacy: update description for users In-Reply-To: References: Message-ID: List-Id: MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii" Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit To: buildroot@busybox.net This patch clarifies the message shown to users in the legacy menu. It explicitly mentions the need to save the configuration before disabling the legacy options. Signed-off-by: Thomas De Schampheleire --- v4: - reorder paragraphs (and modify text a bit to suit this new order) - add "Once you have removed all ..." sentence - add vertical whitespace (I used the least visible * symbol to preserve whitespace) (all comments from Arnout) (v3): new patch in this series Config.in.legacy | 24 ++++++++++++++++++++---- 1 files changed, 20 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-) diff --git a/Config.in.legacy b/Config.in.legacy --- a/Config.in.legacy +++ b/Config.in.legacy @@ -69,11 +69,27 @@ menu "Legacy config options" if BR2_LEGACY comment "Your old configuration uses legacy options that no " -comment "longer exist in buildroot. " -comment "Please look at the options which have been selected " -comment "and read their help text. " -comment "As long as these options stay selected, the build " +comment "longer exist in buildroot, as indicated in the menu " +comment "below. As long as these options stay selected, or in" +comment "case of string options are non-empty, the build " comment "will fail. " +comment "* " +comment "Where possible, an automatic conversion from old to " +comment "new symbols has been performed. Before making any " +comment "change in this legacy menu, make sure to exit the " +comment "configuration editor a first time and save the " +comment "configuration. Otherwise, the automatic conversion " +comment "of symbols will be lost. " +comment "* " +comment "After this initial save, reopen the configuration " +comment "editor, inspect the options selected below, read " +comment "their help texts, and verify/update the new " +comment "configuration in the corresponding configuration " +comment "menus. When everything is ok, you can disable the " +comment "legacy options in the menu below. Once you have " +comment "disabled all legacy options, this text will " +comment "disappear and you will be able to start the build. " +comment "* " comment "Note: at some point in the future, the oldest legacy" comment "options will be removed, and configuration files " comment "that still have those options set, will fail to "