All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
* Problem with www.alsa-project.org web site.
@ 2004-08-10 10:45 James Courtier-Dutton
  2004-08-10 11:03 ` Jaroslav Kysela
  0 siblings, 1 reply; 3+ messages in thread
From: James Courtier-Dutton @ 2004-08-10 10:45 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: ALSA development

The real ALSA project web site is http://www.alsa-project.org/

There appears to now be a FAKE alsa project web site
http://www.alsaproject.org/

The only difference being the "-" sign.

I think that in the intrests of users, we should fight to get ownership 
of alsaproject.org.

Any comments?

James


-------------------------------------------------------
SF.Net email is sponsored by Shop4tech.com-Lowest price on Blank Media
100pk Sonic DVD-R 4x for only $29 -100pk Sonic DVD+R for only $33
Save 50% off Retail on Ink & Toner - Free Shipping and Free Gift.
http://www.shop4tech.com/z/Inkjet_Cartridges/9_108_r285

^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] 3+ messages in thread

* Re: Problem with www.alsa-project.org web site.
  2004-08-10 10:45 Problem with www.alsa-project.org web site James Courtier-Dutton
@ 2004-08-10 11:03 ` Jaroslav Kysela
  2004-08-10 11:26   ` James Courtier-Dutton
  0 siblings, 1 reply; 3+ messages in thread
From: Jaroslav Kysela @ 2004-08-10 11:03 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: James Courtier-Dutton; +Cc: ALSA development

On Tue, 10 Aug 2004, James Courtier-Dutton wrote:

> The real ALSA project web site is http://www.alsa-project.org/
> 
> There appears to now be a FAKE alsa project web site
> http://www.alsaproject.org/
> 
> The only difference being the "-" sign.
> 
> I think that in the intrests of users, we should fight to get ownership 
> of alsaproject.org.
> 
> Any comments?

Domain ID:D104190554-LROR
Domain Name:ALSAPROJECT.ORG
Created On:04-Apr-2004 16:44:16 UTC
Last Updated On:04-Jun-2004 03:47:08 UTC
Expiration Date:04-Apr-2005 16:44:16 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:R39-LROR
Status:OK
Registrant ID:B2E4E1A20136C3E2
Registrant Name:Mr. Luigi Marruso  C.
Registrant Organization:HobbyLeasing.com
Registrant Street1:PO Box 103
Registrant City:Asti
Registrant Postal Code:14100
Registrant Country:IT
Registrant Email:domains@hobbyregistry.com
Admin ID:B2E4E1A20136C3E2
Admin Name:Mr. Luigi Marruso  C.
Admin Organization:HobbyLeasing.com
Admin Street1:PO Box 103
Admin City:Asti
Admin Postal Code:14100
Admin Country:IT
Admin Email:domains@hobbyregistry.com
Tech ID:B2E4E1A20136C3E2
Tech Name:Mr. Luigi Marruso  C.
Tech Organization:HobbyLeasing.com
Tech Street1:PO Box 103
Tech City:Asti
Tech Postal Code:14100
Tech Country:IT
Tech Email:domains@hobbyregistry.com
Name Server:NS1.PROREDIRECT.COM
Name Server:NS2.PROREDIRECT.COM

It seems like that the ALSA project web name is used to increase adverts 
for an Italian company.

						Jaroslav

-----
Jaroslav Kysela <perex@suse.cz>
Linux Kernel Sound Maintainer
ALSA Project, SUSE Labs


-------------------------------------------------------
SF.Net email is sponsored by Shop4tech.com-Lowest price on Blank Media
100pk Sonic DVD-R 4x for only $29 -100pk Sonic DVD+R for only $33
Save 50% off Retail on Ink & Toner - Free Shipping and Free Gift.
http://www.shop4tech.com/z/Inkjet_Cartridges/9_108_r285

^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] 3+ messages in thread

* Re: Problem with www.alsa-project.org web site.
  2004-08-10 11:03 ` Jaroslav Kysela
@ 2004-08-10 11:26   ` James Courtier-Dutton
  0 siblings, 0 replies; 3+ messages in thread
From: James Courtier-Dutton @ 2004-08-10 11:26 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: Jaroslav Kysela; +Cc: ALSA development

Jaroslav Kysela wrote:
> On Tue, 10 Aug 2004, James Courtier-Dutton wrote:
> 
> 
>>The real ALSA project web site is http://www.alsa-project.org/
>>
>>There appears to now be a FAKE alsa project web site
>>http://www.alsaproject.org/
>>
>>The only difference being the "-" sign.
>>
>>I think that in the intrests of users, we should fight to get ownership 
>>of alsaproject.org.
>>
>>Any comments?
> 
> 
> 
> It seems like that the ALSA project web name is used to increase adverts 
> for an Italian company.
> 
> 						Jaroslav
> 

So, based on that, could we not complain to the appropriate DNS 
organisation, and get the name for ourselves?

James


-------------------------------------------------------
SF.Net email is sponsored by Shop4tech.com-Lowest price on Blank Media
100pk Sonic DVD-R 4x for only $29 -100pk Sonic DVD+R for only $33
Save 50% off Retail on Ink & Toner - Free Shipping and Free Gift.
http://www.shop4tech.com/z/Inkjet_Cartridges/9_108_r285

^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] 3+ messages in thread

end of thread, other threads:[~2004-08-10 11:26 UTC | newest]

Thread overview: 3+ messages (download: mbox.gz follow: Atom feed
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2004-08-10 10:45 Problem with www.alsa-project.org web site James Courtier-Dutton
2004-08-10 11:03 ` Jaroslav Kysela
2004-08-10 11:26   ` James Courtier-Dutton

This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.